The Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency was established by the NIHSA Act 2010 and signed into law by Mr. President on 27th August, 2010. The Act is published in the Official Gazette of the Federal Government of Nigeria No. 100, Vol.97 of 31st August, 2010.

The Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency (NIHSA) came into being as a result of the transformation of the former Department of Hydrology and Hydrogeology of the Federal Ministry of Water Resources. The Agency was established to fill a yawning gap created by lack of an appropriate platform for provision of the vital hydrological data required for sustainable development.

It has the statutory responsibility for water resources assessment in terms of quantity, quality, occurrence and availability in time and space. This leads to generation of hydrological and hydrogeological parametric data needed for implementation of programs and execution of projects relating to water resources development such as construction of boreholes, dams, weirs, for water supply, irrigation, power generation, mining and agriculture. NIHSA is also charged with the responsibility to issue forecast on floods, droughts etc.


To provide the services required for assessment of the Nation’s surface and ground water resources in terms of quantity, quality, distribution and availability, in time and space; for efficient and sustainable management of water resources. To operate and maintain hydrological stations nationwide and carry out groundwater exploration and monitoring using various scientific techniques in order to provide hydrological and hydrogeological data needed for planning design execution and management of water resources and allied projects.


To create a dynamic and advanced hydrological services with capabilities of facilitating and supporting the harnessing, controlling, preserving, development and management of Nigeria’s valuable water resources in a sustainable manner.


To provide information on the status and trends of the nation’s water resources including its location in time and space, extent, dependable quality and the possibilities of its utilization and control, through the provision of reliable and high quality hydrological and hydrogeological data on a continuous basis.


The Federal Ministry of Water Resources is the umbrella ministry under which all water resources activities at the Federal level, including hydrological services and allied operations are domiciled.

Consequently, the Honourable Minister of Water Resources sits at the top of the organizational framework of the Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency as the apex authority from whom all other responsibilities emanate by statute.

In the absence of the Governing Board, the Honourable Minister oversees the Agency. The Director General sees to the day-to-day running of the Agency and reports to the Honourable Minister or the Governing Board as the case may be.

There are six (6) departments in the agency, five (5) technical and one (1) service departments. Each of the departments operate under the leadership of a Director and the Departments are further sub-divided into Divisions and Units for effective discharge of their responsibilities. There are various Units such as Legal, Audit, Procurement, Press, Verification, ACTU, SERVICOM and Gender that function directly under the office of the Director–General.